top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheo Tucker

The Power of a Comeback: an encouraging word to those who feel defeated

Updated: Jun 3, 2022


I love watching the NBA playoffs...

I am a HUGE basketball fan, always have been!!! Lately, I have been more drawn to college ball because the level of drama, deceit, and diva-ness that I see in the NBA has become a bit too much for me. I mean, I grew up in the Golden Era with Bird, Magic, Zeke, and Jordan, so for me the current state of the NBA is very soft and marshmallowy, with too many rules and not enough battles...

Except for the playoffs. See, that's when I lock in. I keep up just enough to know who's doing what in the regular season, but the playoffs is where it's at! That's when the 16 best teams in the league find out over the course of 105 possible games who the absolute best team is, hands down. There is no room for silly mistakes, bad plays, or temper tantrums, because it could potentially end your season! In today's league, you see a lot of back-and-forth series' where they end up having to play all 7 games to find out which team wins 4. Other times you see a lot of sweeps, where one team wins 4 games in a series without losing to the other team at all. In both cases, it's very fun to watch, because the players are at their very best...

But my absolute favorite type of series, is the comeback...

The comeback. When a team is down 3 games to 1 or 3 games to 2, and it seems that defeat is inevitable. The other team seems to have them all figured out, and there doesn't seem to be a solution in sight. But then, during the game that should seal their fate, you see something truly amazing! A light bulb clicks on, a switch is flipped, an instinct is triggered. Suddenly the winning team's lead starts to dwindle, calls start favoring the underdogs, the momentum shifts. And before you know it, there is a Game 7. Before you know it, the team that was headed to defeat becomes the victor. You look up and see a different ending to the narrative that was that series! There is truly no more exciting moment in the NBA than the comeback!!!

I think it's time for you to make a comeback too...

Yeah, it's time! Time to stop losing. Time to stop being defeated. Time to stop succumbing to your circumstances. Time to flip the switch. Time to change the narrative. Time for the light bulb to click on! It is time for you to make your comeback!!! First of all, let's make sure that you qualify for a comeback. See, in order to comeback you must first be in a losing position. Not just one loss, that's not what I'm talking about. I am talking about when losing has become ritual, common, familiar. Maybe you've been losing in your finances, your health, your marriage, your job, your relationships. Maybe you feel like life has gone up 3 games to 1 on you, and you're facing elimination. Guess what? You've just qualified for a comeback!!!

Ok, I qualify for a comeback, now what?

Now, you have to change! Change your mindset. See, it all starts in the mind. Human beings are capable of manifesting the things that come to their mind. So even though you feel defeated, if you can change your mindset from a defeated state to that of an overcomer, you can begin to manifest your comeback. If you don't change your mind, you'll never win. Next, you must change your strategy. In the playoffs, when a gameplay results in defeat, smart coaches change their strategy to improve their chances of winning. You must do the same. You cannot keep trying the same thing the same way and expect a different result! You can have the same goal, but let's look at a different way of getting there. I mean, I know how to get to the grocery store using the main roads, but I also know how to get there using side streets and back roads. Why? Because if the main roads are ever blocked, I can get to the same place a different way! Learn the side streets and back roads to your goal.

Lastly, you have to change your attitude. See, when you're down 3-1, you cannot have the attitude of just playing your best and being a winner no matter what. Nah, that won't work in a comeback. You have to be an assassin. Your mindset has to be "I will not lose. No matter what or who stands in my way, I will not lose. I don't care how bad I may be losing, when the final buzzer sounds, I WILL WIN!!!" When you refuse to lose, guess what? You win! I know it sounds crazy, but it's true! Now, notice that I didn't mention changing your goal. I believe that we're all meant to do something specific, and that we have a skill set that is optimal for that purpose. Now of course, if you're going after the wrong goal, you must change your goal. I mean, if you were blessed with the skills to draw, your goal shouldn't be to become the next American Idol. But when you're going after a purpose that you've been equipped for, the goal doesn't need to change.

Well, you're down 3 games to 1. It's win or go home. Are you going into this next game, this next moment, this next year with the same mentality, approach, and attitude? Or are you getting ready to change it up and mount an epic comeback? It's not just the most exciting time in the NBA, it's the most rewarding time in your life! There will be some hard work, some blood, sweat, and tears. But when the dust settles, and you look up and see that you came back from a 3-1 deficit to win, the reward is intangible! You may not see it right now, but you were designed to win! Just a few changes will make you victorious. Life thought it had you defeated...

but it's time for a comeback!

I'm Just Sayin'

TRT

8 views0 comments
bottom of page